Geek Girl Gamenight part I

notice the part I at the top? That’s cause I’m hoping there will be a part II, III, IV etc. Because I’m having a heck of a lot of fun playing all these games. Of course I may not blog EVERY time, but it is fun to take note of the games I’ve played and how I felt about the experience.

Game one: Setllers of Cataan
Since this is my first game post, and I LOVE this game and never get to talk about it, it’s going right here. Hard game to sum up in a bite but: you’re a settler, you have land, you get goods from said land, you use the goods to build roads to take you to new lands so you can settle and beat out others who are trying to settle in the same place. I’m pretty crappy at this game. (I’m pretty crappy at a lot of these games because I don’t think far enough ahead to be dangerous.) However, I do love it. Enough so that I bought the card version so if I can talk ANYONE into playing, I’ll have a game to play with. And yes, I do like the card version as well.

Gamenights – Virtual Fridays:
Quick recap since these are long past: a group meets at a local game store every two weeks and plays Euro games. Nice couple that run it (thank you for running it) and introduce us to lots of games like Zooloretto and Pandemic, both of which end up on my favorite list. Next time I play there I’ll remember to write down the games we play for a full recap.

Fresno Games group (meets once a week):
I’ve been 3 times to this now and I’ll say this much, this is a good bunch of guys. As usual, I’m the only girl. But so far they haven’t held that against me.
Games played:
Race for the galaxy: not a bad card game, doesn’t take much set up which is nice. Will have to play it a bit more to really get a handle on it, but I liked it.
Puerto Rico: Love it. Take turns choosing roles that will help you to build factories, make goods, and trade said goods. Much more complex than that of course. 2 player version is San Juan and I really like that one as well.
Droles de Zebres: Okay I lost this one – by a whole lot. And I thought I had the hang of it! You know you’re going to lose when the person you’re playing keeps saying “Yes, that’s where I thought you’d go” or “Yep, I knew you’d do that.” Every Turn! Would play it again, it is fast, but I need someone else who’s like me and doesn’t know the game well.
Dungeonquest: Kind of cool game. I would definately play it again.Take one adventurer, with strengths and weaknesses, set him in a dungeon that changes each time, give him things to fight and treasure to find – and keep if he makes it out alive. I’ll give you a hint on this game: the winner is the one who makes it out alive – and when we played, no one did.
Hart an der Grenze: You’re smuggling goods in these cute little suitcases, some legal, some not. Trying to declare as little as possible so you make as much as possible – without being caught by the mean customs agent (Sherrif). I lost – horribly! Was fun though. Love the suitcases and the owner of said-game was smart and added little plastic sleeves for the endgame!
Aquaretto: Zooloretto with twists. You’re trying to build your own tourist-attraction aquarium complete with seals, dolphins, killer whales and more, but you’re limited on space. You don’t want the whales close to the dolphins – so set up is important. I lost this one too – and I was doing so good! I really like it though – there are rules for playing a combined version with Zooloretto and Aquaretto that we want to try sometime.
Pandemic: The world is afire with viruses, ready to explode into an epidemic at any moment! You and your team (fellow players) must work together to get the cures before the world ends! Very fun game, I like it a lot! The world ended though and we found no cures (sad shake of the head). It was all my fault! I take the blame, I chose the wrong role. Next time we will be victorious!
Note: these guys are a blast to play with, and I know they only keep me around so they aren’t the ones losing the games. Score: me 0 them 500000000 (yeah that’s a complete exaggeration)

That’s it – at some point I’ll try and link up to boardgamegeek.com descrip for each game. Live in Fresno or close enough? We’re open to new players! Come join us – we need more girls!

Leave a Reply

