Cookie Exchange

We have a cookie exchange at work every year, and every year I try out something new. Not sure why, obsession I guess. I’ve got lots of good recipes that I know come out just right and taste great, but I have to try something new.  So I found a recipe in a book at the store and of course came home to find it online. Although I did cheat, and use the camera phone to take pictures. Hate buying a book for 1 recipe. But then, I got to thinking, I wonder if I made a few changes, how would that come out. Of course I looked online to find something comparable, combined the two recipes, looked for another that used banana in it, worked that one in. Then went for it. Here’s the adventure.

Part I: I made a double batch, so I’d be sure and have enough to experiment with a bit, and plenty for the cookie exchange. The mixing was pretty straight forward except for some changes with flour. Knowing about the consistency I wanted, I added enough flour to get there. Then came the baking. First batch I used way too much dough. These cookies do expand when you’re cooking so leave room! Consistency is more like banana bread in a smaller size, not quite what I expected, added more flour, still the same. Decided to go with that, the flavor was great. Very banana-y. Still have to frost them to see what I get from that. Oh yeah, baby loves them. She kept trying to get me to give her more!

Part II: When I made the frosting I did a quadruple batch, yeah I don’t know what I was thinking either. I’ll be making a lot of french toast for breakfast. – BUT I did not quadruple the powdered sugar right off. I actually probably ended up with 6 or 7 cups. I really thought that having that much brown sugar AND that much powdered sugar would be way too sweet, but the less brown sugar at the beginning, the more powdered sugar you’ll need at the end. Depends on your taste expectation. You want the frosting to be not runny, but not too thick. Once you let it sit, it does thicken.

The frosting came out exactly the consistency and flavor I wanted (see notes on recipe). Very sweet, so be warned, a little goes a long way. Now I still haven’t come up with a name for these. Browned butter banana bread cookies with caramel lime frosting seems like – well, a mouthful. Got a name idea? Share. Now these are a bit different flavor-wise, but I love it. When I make “exotic” french toast, this is pretty much how it comes out. But I enjoy the combination of flavors. You can also just bake the cookies and leave off the frosting. The baby loves them like that.

If you do make them, let me know. Especially if you made changes, I might want to change mine too! Thanks.

So here’s the recipe (with all the changes).

Cookies (http://www.bettycrocker.com/Recipes/Recipe.aspx?recipeId=32977)

Went with double recipe so:

2 1/2 to 3 large bananas mashed 5 bananas mashed
1 cup butter (do not use margarine) 1/2 c butter
2 cups packed brown sugar 1 c. packed brown sugar
1/2 cup milk 1/4 c. milk
2 eggs 1 egg 4 egg whites 1 egg+ 2 egg whites
1 tsp vanilla
3 1/2 cups Gold Medal® all-purpose flour 1 3/4 cups flour (less flour? – nope 3 3/4 c)
1 teaspoon baking soda  1/2 tsp baking soda Increase to 1 or 1 1/2 Used about 2 3/4 tsp
1/4 teaspoon salt 1/2 tsp salt Just used 2 pinches of salt

Spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves?

Caramel Frosting
1 tsp vanilla
1 to 1 1/2 tsp Lime juice (to taste)
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1 cup packed brown sugar 1/2 c. packed brown sugar (1/4 c light+1/4 c dark)
1/4 cup milk
2 cups powdered sugar (This one can vary 1 1/2 to 2 cups see notes)
1. Heat oven to 400°F 375F. In 2-quart heavy saucepan, melt 1 cup butter over medium heat. Continue to cook, stirring constantly, until butter is light brown. Cool at least 10 minutes. Meanwhile, add baking soda to mashed bananas, chemical reaction of bananas to baking soda will give it fluffiness.

2. In large bowl, mix browned butter, Banana mixture, brown sugar, milk and the eggs with spoon. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls teaspoonfuls about 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheet. Make sure you give these space!
3. Bake cookies 9 to 11 minutes or until almost no indentation remains when touched in center. Cool 1 to 2 minutes; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cool completely, about 30 minutes.
4. Meanwhile, in 2-quart saucepan, melt 1/2 cup butter over medium heat. Stir in 1 cup brown sugar. Heat to boiling, stirring constantly. Stir in 1/4 cup milk. Heat to boiling; remove from heat. Cool to lukewarm, about 30 minutes. Gradually stir in powdered sugar. Use a teaspoon to drop a good glob in the middle of the cookie (so technical sounding huh?). If it’s the right consistency, this gives you a perfect little dollop in the middle of the cookie and looks nice, as well as giving it just enough sweetness.

2 Responses

  1. These cookie sound like The Nom!! 🙂 You are so creative! I wish I was as brave as you in the kitchen. I pretty much follow a recipe, otherwise, um…yeah..we’re eating out! LOL!

    • Ah but you’re not around for the disasters! I’ll cook for you any time! Maybe I’ll send you a care package after Christmas!

Leave a Reply

